#ItAllStartsAtCorral

Mustang Corral is only 5 days away, and Orientation Team is so excited to welcome you back to the Hilltop! Orientation Leader Kyle Baker, a sophomore from Prairie Village, KS majoring in Creative Computing and Business, is here to share all about Mustang Corral!

CC Forever A Mustang.jpg

Here at SMU we say #itallstartsatcorral, which cannot be more true.  The night of Move-In is a blast, because Mustang Corral starts with Kickoff.  I don’t want to spoil all the fun that is in store, but be ready to have an awesome first night on campus!  After Kickoff, you will head back to your Commons where you’ll get to participate in your very first Commons’ tradition, Home Sweet SMU.  Every Residential Commons does something different, but all are great opportunities to get to know your fellow residents.

The next morning, you will grab the bag you packed and be off to Discover Dallas.  For me, Discover Dallas turned out to be one of the most impactful parts of Mustang Corral, because I met my best friend walking to the bus.  After a fun trip exploring Dallas, you will be dropped off at Camp Corral!  I know what you’re thinking, “I just unpacked my dorm room and now you expect me to camp.”  Don’t worry, we are going to a retreat center, so think of it as glamping.

Once you get back from camp, you’ll find yourself immersed in all the great things campus has to offer through an assembly, campus tour, activity fair, and block party! Corral ends on Sunday afternoon with Rotunda Passage and Convocation.  These are a major SMU tradition where every First-Year Student walks through Dallas Hall from the back to the front doors, symbolizing your entrance into the university.  Take in the moment, because it is inspiring to think in that in four years you will be walking back through Dallas Hall in the other direction for graduation.

The biggest piece of advice I can give you for Mustang Corral is to just smile.  Corral is an amazing experience when you open yourself up. I am so thankful that I did this at Corral and was not afraid to be myself with people.  If you commit to the experience, you will be set up for a life-changing four years here at SMU.

Click here to read the top 5 reasons you should be excited for camp from one of our 2016 Orientation Leaders, Taylor Vinson!

