Highs and Lows of my First Year

Before you know it, August will be here and you’ll be starting your first year as an SMU Mustang. Adam Bixby is a junior from Kansas City, MO double majoring in Political Science and Public Policy with a minor in Law & Legal Reasoning, and he shares his highs and lows of coming to SMU below.

19145784_1113880388712868_8831014084593776733_n

I’d been imagining what college would be like ever since my first day of high school. Now that I am in the midst of what is supposed to be “the best four years of my life” I can only think of how every year after college will just be not as good as the one before. Transitioning into college life was very much a great experience but that doesn’t mean it didn’t come with its down sides. I want to take you through my top highs and lows of freshman year and how I got through the low points to truly appreciate the highs.

Low: not having anything to hold you steady

Now don’t get me wrong, it is great getting to go out to into the world on your own. But in college my family wasn’t close and none of my friends were even in the same state as me. When I had to deal with having nothing to do, getting a bad grade on a test, or fighting with a roommate, I would feel that I had no one to talk to and that I was alone. I knew I could talk to my family, but I felt that wasn’t enough sometimes. I knew that I had to make the best of my situation no matter the circumstances. I used the organizations I had joined to find friends to vent about my problems, and I found out that the people I talked to were some of the kindest human beings I will ever know. These people are now some of my best friends and I know I can count on them to listen to me. I now know that I have people in my life at SMU I can hold myself down to.

10014564_10208174886147225_2470960337828498541_n

High: making your own community

By taking the time to pursue what I was interested in and joining organizations that made me feel important, I was able to feel like a part of something bigger than myself. The thing that made me feel better was trying to pursue my own community and make a network of friends that could depend on one another without question. I found a way to create my own path by discovering how open my friends were to trying new organizations. I was surprised that when my friends got me to try new organizations I knew many of the people who were already members. I knew I had a community where everyone knew my name and welcomed me. I had found my community.

12339116_10206891826828233_3678915814604766454_o

For another list of highs and lows, read this post from last year’s blog, written by one of our Orientation Mentors, MacKenzie Korsi!

