Highs & Lows of My First Year at SMU

MacKenzie Korsi is a sophomore Business Management and Corporate Communications & Public Affairs double major in both the Cox School of Business and Meadows School of the Arts. MacKenzie is from Long Lake, Minnesota and had her fair share of highs and lows (mostly highs) during her first year away from home. Read about MacKenzie’s highs and lows and know that you are not alone in your transition to SMU! 

Highs & Lows of My First Year

I’ve been dreaming about college for as long as I can remember, and now I’m in the midst of what I’m told is “the best four years of my life.” Transitioning to college life was filled with mixed emotions for me, despite my excitement and anticipation. Because moving to college wasn’t always the smooth sailing I expected, let me share my top highs and lows from my first year here at SMU.

Low: Leaving everything I know

I am from a small town in Minnesota, and it has been my home since I was 12 years old. By the time high school ended, I was extremely comfortable with who I was at home. I knew I was ready for the adventure moving to Texas would bring, but when I actually arrived at SMU on move-in day, I had a moment where I thought I was crazy for moving to a place where I didn’t know a single soul.

1

High: Finding my place somewhere new

That being said, the adventure of diving headfirst into SMU was so worth it. I was forced out of my comfort zone, which pushed me to really find myself in a completely new context. Since moving to Texas, I have explored a new state, met people from across the country and the world, and learned about a completely different culture than the one I grew up in – and I’ve loved it all, y’all.

2

Low: Feeling alone

Along with moving to a new place, without the comfort of my friends and family, came feelings of loneliness. There were definite moments first semester where I thought I was never going to make any friends, and putting myself out there every single day to meet new people became exhausting after a little while.

3

High: Pursuing community at SMU

Despite some minor exhaustion, however, the pursuit of new friendships paid off ten-fold. I put my time into a few organizations I was interested in, and I ended up meeting my ‘squad’ at a Bible Study. Coming into second semester was amazing as well, because I realized coming back to school just how many people I knew walking around campus, and I had so many friends surrounding me and making my community here at SMU.

4

Low: Failing my first test

I always got good grades in high school, and was convinced the fact that college was harder wouldn’t affect me too much. I was wrong, and I got a 63 on my first Communication Theory test. There’s not much else to say about the experience.

5

High: Loving my classes

There is more to say about that class, though, because it became one of my favorites. I’m a Corporate Communications & Public Affairs major and taking Communication Theory opened my eyes to see the world differently. My professor was passionate about his field, and the material was exciting, which proved to me I’m pursuing a career I will love.

6

All of these highs and lows, plus a few more, have made my first year at SMU a great one. I fall more and more in love with my school every single day, and even though there are bumps in the road, adoring SMU is biggest high of all!

7

